NaNoWriMo

So I’m completely insane. For the third year in a row, I’m participating in the Office of Letters and Light’s annual November event, NaNoWriMo. That stands for National Novel Writing Month. It’s where you–yep, you guessed it!–write a novel in one month!

One novel.

50,000 words.

Thirty days.

You have to write 50,000 words of a novel in order to win, but the content of your novel is up to you. Write 1,667 words a day, and you’ll make it to the finish line!

I enjoy the 30-day novel challenge because it takes away the One-Day-I’ll-Write-A-Novel-ness. It’s also the prime length of time to write a novel. In one month, I don’t really forget all I’ve written and I can keep the plotlines straight in my head. It’s also just enough to challenge me, while not being terribly difficult.

NaNoWriMo is something I would definitely recommend trying. The forums are useful and fun, and pep talks are sent out every so often during the month to cheer writers on. Check out NaNoWriMo, and let me know what you think!

And I’ve changed my theme for October again. …Oh, shush. I swear I’m not decision-challenged, okay? I’ll probably be talking about NaNo preparation. Maybe a few other random things here and there. Not sure.

Mercia Dragonslayer

About merciatremblac

I'm a junior in college, creative writing major, currently living in the mountains of North Carolina with my best friend for a roommate.
This entry was posted in 30 day challenge, fiction, NaNoWriMo, novels, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

