Joyous Jobs

So I’ve been degraded to writing about jobs now, have I? Wonderful.

I’m in “that boat” of being pushed out of the nest right now–but SHHH! Don’t tell anyone I said that. It’s a secret confession. But seriously, I’m trying to find a job. I’ve applied to over two dozen places, and only a handful have not said “No” at this point. I’m very, very annoyed. Sociology is definitely not helping my cause here.

To be honest, there aren’t many skills that I have that could be considered employable in this economy. Sure, I can write a novel. Sure, I can train my horse. Sure, I can draw some pictures–but they won’t sell in today’s market. At least mine won’t, sadly.

I’m beginning to think that I’ll be one of those old spinsters who teaches on a measly salary and has fifteen other side jobs to boot. I’ll be selling my novels someday, obviously. Prince of Thieves is very close to being done, if I can just figure out how to end the silly thing. I’ll sell drawings for scads of money and become a world-famous artist. And who knows? Maybe I’ll be an amazing horse trainer, too!

In other news, I’ve put up my Art Commissions page. No, I swear I’m not pulling on your heartstrings by telling you my sob story of how I’m never going to earn money or get anywhere in life or buy next semester’s text books… But really, would you let a 16-year-old gal starve to death? My amazingly awesomeful beautiful drawings are only $15ish each. Affordable! Plus, you can rest knowing you helped a poor college student buy her books.

I swear I’m not giving a sob story. Really.

But it would be totally sweet if you bought a drawing! Oh, what a joyous job that would be!

About merciatremblac

I'm a junior in college, creative writing major, currently living in the mountains of North Carolina with my best friend for a roommate.
This entry was posted in Art, drawing, novels, Prince of Thieves. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

