NaNo Day Two

It’s not too late to join NaNoWriMo, folks! It’s only day two, see. You could still join in–you’d only be 3,333 words behind.

I have a confession to make as I check in–I’ve not written anything at all today. I stopped at 1,699 words last night, and not one single word has (literally!) flowed from my pen this day.

 

Yes, I’m hand-writing my novel this year. I wanted a challenge, I had notebooks to fill, and I spend entirely too much time on the computer as it is. So I present to you my beloved NaNoWriMo notebook!

 Tada! Yes, yes, I know. Such an original title. But really, that encompases what I know about the plot so far. Translation: not much.

I’ve never completely pantsed a novel before. The original, co-written edition of Love had a prior version used as a guide. Forgiven had a step outline (which I lost, but I still knew where I was going!). Revenge had a full outline, with all the details perfectly planned. Iron had a general story line, even if I deviated from it.

A (Werewolf) Mystery has nothing other than the main character and some of his family. I also know that Xander will get a pet dog sometime, and a random character is going to die. In addition, I managed to scrape up some sort of synopsis to post on my NaNo page. That counts as pantsing, right? I thought so.

So, without any further ado, I present you my NaNoWriMo 2011 novel synopsis!

Ulysses Eberon is an ordinary guy who has an extraordinary habit every month. He actually wishes he was just like everyone else–but then where would the world be?

He can’t quite believe it when a girl joins his library staff and actually seems to–ergasp–like him. He spends his time moping anyway and is nearly taken off guard when someone in their quiet little town is murdered. Whodunit? Is it possible Ulysses is the next target?

This is the actual synopsis I posted on NaNo. As I read it over, I notice I’ve changed many details. Ulysses Eberon’s full name is Ulysses Alexander Ebronah (what can I say? his parents have a fetish for Greek history. I also misspelled his last name when I wrote the synopsis), but he goes by Xander. Understandably, of course.

The love interest does not join his library staff. She’s a rich girl who’s decided the world only likes her for her wealth and body, and she’s at the library because she desperately wants a normal date. Obviously, the library seemed the best place to go for a book on procuring such a date.

That’s where my 1,699 words stopped yesterday. I still don’t know where I’m going with this story, although I think I have a fleeting picture of how the first chapter is supposed to end. I also realized that Xander seems like a bit of a Gary Stue. Oops.

Well, I must be off! I need to get ready for an appointment–during which I will be able to write quite a few words. Exciting!

Au revoir!

Mercia Dragonslayer

About merciatremblac

I'm a junior in college, creative writing major, currently living in the mountains of North Carolina with my best friend for a roommate.
This entry was posted in 30 day challenge, characters, fiction, forgiven, idea, love, NaNoWriMo, novels, Outlining, Revenge, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNo Day Two

  1. Sandy says:

    I love that picture.

    And the term “pantsed a novel.”

    And that story idea.

    And the whole Greekhistoryfetishlynamedwerewolf thing. XD Dang this is just a cool post.

    • XD Thanks 😀 I didn’t want my whole face in the picture, but I needed to see what button to press for the webcam…

      Pantsing 😀

      YAY! I’m glad you like my story idea 😀 I love it too…

Leave a Reply

