The Sorting Hat says… (NaNo Day 6)

The sorting hat says that I belong in Ravenclaw!

<

Said Ravenclaw, “We’ll teach those whose intelligence is surest.”

Ravenclaw students tend to be clever, witty, intelligent, and knowledgeable.

Take the most scientific Harry Potter
Quiz
ever created.

In case you haven’t figured it out by now, I’m a huge Harry Potter fan, and not just because the rest of creation is obsessed with it. I love the plot, the themes, the characters, and the story world itself. One of the most notable story world elements of the Harry Potter books is, of course, Hogwarts school. I’ve always been fascinated by the Sorting Hat and the Houses of the school.

I’ve taken the above quiz several times before, and Ravenclaw is the general consensus. I’ve gotten Ravenclaw on this quiz as well. Both quizzes use personality questions similar to the Myers-Briggs Personality Tests (among others) to sort the participant into the best House.

(As a side note, I sometimes sort Gryffindor or Hufflepuff. In either case, Ravenclaw is one or two points behind, with Slytherin always dead last.)

Someday, I’d like to give the first quiz (the ridiculously comprehensive one) to people I know and see how they match up against my expectations. Lately, I’ve taken to looking at said people and sorting them (or their actions) into a specific house. Phrases from “That was totally Slytherin!” to “He’s such a Gryffindor” to “Nerdy Ravenclaw…” to “Hufflepuff, obviously” run through my head at least once a day, especially around family and friends.

So, I gave the survey to my family.

My hypotheses:

Em–Gryffindor or Hufflepuff

Mom–Ravenclaw or Hufflepuff

Dad–Gryffindor or Ravenclaw

Results:

Em–86 Hufflepuff, 75 Gryffindor, 67 Ravenclaw, 41 Slytherin

(She scored right on the dot! Hufflepuff first, which wasn’t surprising to me, and then Gryffindor, which was also not surprising)

Mom–Ravenclaw (she lost the link, so I haven’t got the specific numbers)

Dad has not taken my quiz yet. Oh well–I’m pretty sure he’ll score as a Gryffindor.

In other news, I’m waaaaay behind on NaNoWriMo. I don’t even have 5000 words and I’m supposed to be at 10k. Fail. I blame it on the youth retreat I went on this weekend. Even though I wrote a lot, I was still too distracted to do much. Oh well.

In further news, I have a guest post appearing on Write It Sideways tomorrow concerning NaNoWriMo. I’m so excited! I would love it if you all checked it out and supported me. I also expect my blog views to make a significant jump tomorrow. I’ll have to prepare an amazing article to post. Any ideas?

I now bid you adieu, because I do have other things to do that, unfortunately, do not include writing lengthy blog posts.

Mercia Dragonslayer

P.S. I apologize for the formatting. It’s having issues, and I can’t fix it on my iPad. Ugh.

*Five minutes later* All right, so my sister’s computer won’t fix it. I’ll try again tomorrow..

*Next day* I fixed it! It still looks a bit funny, but I’m just going to stop messing with it for now.

About merciatremblac

I'm a junior in college, creative writing major, currently living in the mountains of North Carolina with my best friend for a roommate.
This entry was posted in 30 day challenge, characters, Harry Potter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

