The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly (NaNo Day 9)

The good, the bad, and the ugly. This year’s NaNo novel undoubtedly contains all three. Today’s post shall feature this year’s nano-isms in various degrees of brilliantness. Enjoy!

Good

Then a silver ray of moonlight shot through an air vent, shining straight on Xander’s face. He shuddered. Another ray of light struck him in the shoulder. Pain and strength ripped through his body all at the same time, tearing his muscles and ripping his bones. A raw scream pierced the cool air. “Make it stop! Make it stop!” he pleaded. “Please…”

Yes, I know this is a bit disturbing. It’s actually Xander transforming into a werewolf. I just love the detail and description I managed to write. It’s actually good, you know?

Bad

He flicked the phone shut and handed it back to Katharine just before they reached her car, parked on the side of the road.

That’s not positively awful. But it’s not good, either.

Ugly

Bennet frowned, but nodded briskly. “Fine.” She was down the stairs and halfway across the parking lot before he’d reached the end of the hall. By the time he reached her car, she was tapping the steering wheel and her purse sat in the middle of the front passenger seat.

Modifier overload, anyone? That’s probably one of the worst sentences I’ve written in a long time.

And now, I present to you my favorite (but awful) line:

Grade School Teacher Commits Suicide After Dog Bites Student.

It’s supposed to be a newspaper headline.

 And now for the final point of the night–5,000 words and how it looks in handwritten pages! I’m impressed. At the rate of ~150-170 words per page, I could fit the whole 50,000 words in one notebook. That would be pretty cool.

Today, perhaps, is the time to mention that I’m really aiming for 100,000 words. I have a bet with a guy at my school that I can reach 100,000 words first. I’m certain I’ll end up getting more words than he, but I don’t know if I’ll hit the mark. We’ll see.

I started out today with 6,392. I’m so awfully behind–I’m supposed to be around 14,000-15,000 words, and I’m nowhere close. Obviously. Wish me luck! I’m going to need it.

About merciatremblac

I'm a junior in college, creative writing major, currently living in the mountains of North Carolina with my best friend for a roommate.
This entry was posted in 30 day challenge, fiction, NaNoWriMo, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly (NaNo Day 9)

  1. John LaShell says:

    Do the words you write in your blog count?

Leave a Reply

