The Mighty Pen (NaNo Day 10)

I discovered today, with great sadness, that my favorite NaNoWriMo pen has died after only ten days and 6800 words of writing. It’s a TREND DIXON porous point pen, fine point, black. It’s wonderfully inky and soaks like magic into the pages of the notebook I’m writing in. And it died.

Obviously, this is distressing news. I can’t imagine using any other pen–ballpoints don’t flow as easily, fountain one ink is way too expensive to replace, sharpies are too fine, and gel pens just don’t cut it for me. So, I reached onto my art desk and pulled out… The exact same pen! Brilliant! But as I compared the used pen and the new pen, I noticed several significant differences between them.

20111110-182757.jpg

As you can see, the newer pen’s lettering is shiny. It’s also smoother, and the tip is rounder. I have yet to set pen to page as I write this sentence, but I am sure it will be marvelous!

TWO HOURS LATER:

I have written with my wonderful, lovely pen. I’m up to 7,200 words, and I want to send out a note of encouragement to all those who are still behind on NaNo: you can do it! It’s in you. You’re a writer (well, you’d have to be hard core to attempt something as crazy as NaNo!) , and you have what it takes to finish. And even if you don’t finish, at least you tried.

Try your best. Be the best you can possibly be and keep holding on. It’s totally worth all the the tears, the heart ache, the hand cramps… All of it.

Be brilliant. Be a amazing.

Be a writer.

About merciatremblac

I'm a junior in college, creative writing major, currently living in the mountains of North Carolina with my best friend for a roommate.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, novels, process, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Mighty Pen (NaNo Day 10)

  1. Much respect for aiming to reach 100,000 writing by hand! I’d cry trying to get a quarter of that down by hand; everything goes directly to Word through my keyboard.
    …gotta put that A* in Office Apps to good use somehow (taught me how to touchtype).

    • Haha, yeah. I’m only trying for 100,000 because one of my friends told me he could get there faster than I could. I’m pretty sure I’ll end up with more words than he does (or at least beating him to 50k).
      I used Mavis Beacon for touch-typing. And one of my friends, who I chatted with online–she could type much faster than I, and by the time I’d typed out my response she’d moved on to something else. I learned pretty quickly!

Leave a Reply

