Taming the Manuscript Monster Part 2

Part 1 here.

Upon reading the comments left at the Part 1 blog post, I realized that I left off an extraordinary part of editing.

Reading aloud.

I never thought that reading my manuscript aloud would help me. Quite the opposite, in fact–I thought I’d look stupid and silly. Especially if I tried to put emotion into it.

One of the reasons I now love reading my stories aloud is the result of a character change. I don’t care what people think of me (to an extent), and my friends and family are used to my strangeness anyway. They think nothing of strange voices and accents coming from my end of the house.

I also realized what a help reading out loud is for my dialogue. I love impersonating my characters–bringing out their accents, their slips o’ the tongue, their special ways of saying certain words and phrases. I can also catch any awkward phrasing and fix it right away, while I’m reading.

Reading aloud gives me a refreshing angle, too. I read what I wrote instead of what I meant to write. It’s good for grammar and spelling checks as well as style and flow. It helps me see how the reader would  look at my story.

If you haven’t already, I recommend reading your story aloud with a highlighter in hand as an editing method. It’s easy, fun, and helpful–why not try it?

________________

Gah. That was way too short. But I suppose I don’t actually have anything left to say about that, so I’m done!

Yahoo. Have a Merry Christmas and a happy New Year. 🙂

~Mercia Dragonslayer

About merciatremblac

I'm a junior in college, creative writing major, currently living in the mountains of North Carolina with my best friend for a roommate.
This entry was posted in editing, fiction, novels, Short Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taming the Manuscript Monster Part 2

Leave a Reply

