Good Enough For Me

He’s ensuring that he’ll rule his destiny

He wants to set himself free

Restraints are like chains

And he says,

“My hope is good enough for me.”

 

She’s urged to something not to be

Forced to watch, forced to see

But another pulls her in

Satisfies her whim.

“Any hope is good enough for me.”

 

Lonely child seeks the source of fear

To forever end her troubles here

Takes her weapon of choice

Silences her voice

“No hope is good enough for me.”

 

Yet another settles to her knee

Praying with a desperate plea

One listens to her

As it were,

“Only one hope is good for me.”

 

~Mercia Dragonslayer

About merciatremblac

I'm a junior in college, creative writing major, currently living in the mountains of North Carolina with my best friend for a roommate.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Good Enough For Me

  1. Mom says:

    A new genre–I’m impressed!

    • You should be ^_^ I figured that since half of my creative writing class will be poetry, I should write it whenever the muse hits–that way I have a chance of actually turning in something decent šŸ˜„

  2. Tyna says:

    Hmmm…interesting. Had to read it twice. Very deep. Nice job.

Leave a Reply

