Happy 50th!

So, yesterday I passed the 50 post mark. I’ve had this blog since April 2011, and I feel blessed that it’s still going!

Things that have happened since April 2011:

  1. I graduated from high school and started college.
  2. I wrote another novel.
  3. I spent the whole summer working at a camp.
  4. I left a record 153 comments on 19 pages of prose.
  5. That’s all I can think of.

To celebrate, I’ll leave you with a bit of writing advice, lightening-style.

  • Research is not writing.
  • Writing about writing is not writing (unless that’s your job!)
  • Give your characters strange combinations of mental disorders, take away the meds, and watch what happens.
  • Adverbs and passive voice are evil.

If you could condense the best writing advice every into one sentence or less, what would it be?

About merciatremblac

I'm a junior in college, creative writing major, currently living in the mountains of North Carolina with my best friend for a roommate.
This entry was posted in blogs, process, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy 50th!

  1. Writing Jobs says:

    Thanks for sharing this post. Very nice job. Writing can be very relaxing.

    Join Us Today.

    Writers Wanted

  2. Maggie says:

    Congratulations on getting to 50 posts!

    “Give your characters strange combinations of mental disorders, take away the meds, and watch what happens.” – Best advice ever. 🙂

  3. R. G. Nairam says:

    Best writing advice is either….

    1. First drafts are always rough.

    2. Write honestly.

Leave a Reply

