Always Icecream! (review)

So, I joined a group of bloggers who were (was?) looking for someone to review the site Always Icecream. I agreed, received a code to set up an account, and proceeded to spend the rest of the afternoon fiddling around on the site.

Always Icecream (and its companion site, Clever Dragons) is a safe, fun site for girls in grades K-8. It’s a Christian site, as evidenced by the various Bible knowledge games and the Bible verse game (which I found particularly challenging, for some reason).  It provides girls with a safe outlet for social media (strictly moderated), games, and videos (similar to youtube, but completely safe). I thoroughly enjoyed it, even though I’m probably way too old for the site.

Pros:

It’s addictive. The games are fairly easy, for the most part, and it’s even easier to earn “$coops”, the monetary denomination on Always Icecream. One can then go to “Pet World” and hatch eggs to get pets, and then take care of said pets, or to Miniworld, a sort of interior design game. I found the Pet World cute, but a bit childish for me. Miniworld, on the other hand, fits my style perfectly. Even if the graphics are akin to something a ten-year-old might draw, it’s fascinating to build a little house and rooms and color things and… yeah. You get the point.

Cons:

It’s a pay-for-service sort of thing. You can pay for one month, two months, one year, or a lifetime subscription. The fees aren’t too bad, compared to other websites I’ve seen, but this is a major turn-off for me. (Also, I’m not a mom, so I might purchase something like this in the future for my daughter, but I wouldn’t purchase it for myself.) Still, that’s something that’s a personal decision. *shrug*

In addition, if you don’t buy the paid membership, you can still fiddle around on the site and play games and such, though it won’t save your games. Pretty spiffy.

At any rate, I have no idea if any of my dear readers would enjoy a site like this (I can think of several people who might enjoy it, but.. alas, they do not follow my blog), but it’s pretty fun to mess around with.

In other news, I FINISHED PRINCE OF THIEVES! …Yes. The novel I’ve been working on for the past two years, whose protagonist is the amazing and lovable Kahil, is finished. I don’t know whether to cry or laugh.

(By the way, I actually finished it on the 18th, but hadn’t gotten around to posting it yet. So now you know. Tralala! Look for a post soon-ish on Fallor/Jeline. ^.^)

~Mercia Dragonslayer

About merciatremblac

I'm a junior in college, creative writing major, currently living in the mountains of North Carolina with my best friend for a roommate.
This entry was posted in blogs, Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

