Soundtrack Songs (and the meaning of ‘Squib’)

SQUIB.

What the dictionary says it is: a short and witty or sarcastic saying or writing.

What the dictionary says it is, part 2: a fire-work that burns with a hissing noise before exploding.

What everyone else says it is: ARGUS FILCH!

…Yeah. So I never knew that “Squib” was an actual word until I went hunting in the “S” section of the dictionary for a work to alliterate with “Songs”…

Anyways. The original point of this post was to introduce the book soundtrack for the Fallor/Jeline story. No, I don’t mean the music I just happen to listen to while writing. I mean the songs that go perfectly with my story. Perfectly. I may edit to include youtube links later, but not sure if I’m going to do that yet. :3

“Other Side of the World” by KT Tunstall * (Shar/Jeline)

“Dance with the Devil” by Breaking Benjamin * (Jeline/Jelir)

“A Window to the Past” by John Williams * (Jeline)

“I Caught Myself” by Paramore * (Fallor/Jeline)

“A Beautiful Lie” by 30 Seconds to Mars (Jelir/Jeline)

“History” by Matthew West * (Fallor)

“You and Me” by Lifehouse * (Fallor/Jeline)

“Perfect Day” by Miriam Stockley * (Jeline)

“Closer to the Edge” by 30 Seconds to Mars (Everyone)

“Haunted” by Taylor Swift (Fallor/Jeline)

“Davy Jones” by Hans Zimmer * (Kahil)

“Forever” by Fireflight * (Fallor/Jeline)

“Best of Me” by The Letter Black * (Jeline/Fallor)

“Crazier” by Taylor Swift * (Fallor/Jeline)

Those are pretty much in chronological order. Those songs marked with an asterisk are part of the original soundtrack gifted to me by Samii in 2009 (I think). The others I’ve added over the years as I listened to new songs and further developed the story. If you’ve ever read the full story, or at least have a rounded knowledge of it, you can probably place each song with either a character or a scene.

So there’s my Soundtrack Songs for the day, also Fallor/Jeline as promised. ^.^

~Mercia Dragonslayer

What are the songs that go with YOUR novel? And is there a word you’ve used but never known the meaning? (Or did you assume J.K.Rowling made up ‘squib’ for her novels? Hehe.)

About merciatremblac

I'm a junior in college, creative writing major, currently living in the mountains of North Carolina with my best friend for a roommate.
This entry was posted in characters, love, novels. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Soundtrack Songs (and the meaning of ‘Squib’)

  1. Nairam says:

    Lots of Michael W. Smith’s “Freedom” CD is Forest of Lies songs. Which is kind off interesting, because *in general* I don’t do a lot of songs/story or song/character pairs (Unbroken by FFH is another exception–that’s Yvette’s song).

    Broken down, The Giving is Marian’s, Freedom Battle is kind of an over-all, Freedom is Robin, and Hibernia is Much’s. There are several others on there that make me think about certain things in the book, but those are the main ones. Especially The Giving and Hibernia.

    • Whoa, that’s pretty cool that there’s a whole album. O.O I believe I’ve heard all of those songs at some point in time (living in the same house as someone who’s obsessed with Michael W. Smith), and from what I remember they’re definitely a match for FoL.

      Why do you think you don’t generally match up songs with stories/characters? I didn’t do it before Samii asked me what went with Fallor/Jeline, but since then many of the new songs I’ve heard were perfect for this story or that. I suppose it’s habit now, though. *shrug*

      • Nairam says:

        Well, I suppose “generally” isn’t that accurate when one of my main works has a bunch of songs. 😛 I just don’t actively seek them out. Like you said, it’s not really a habit. I do hear stuff now and again (like Undone–not Unbroken. XD Unbroken is your book, Nai.) that makes me sit up and freak out, but I don’t go around looking for them.

        Music isn’t a major part of my writing style, really. I don’t ever listen to it while I write. Granted, that’s partly because my laptop is from the stone age and can hardly play music, but even then I had kind of given up on music with writing.

        Now that I’m thinking about it, He’s My Son by Mark Schultz is also a Robin song.

        Quintessence currently has zero songs.

Leave a Reply

