iPod Notebook

Today, I felt like being crafty. I saw these adorable notebooks while gallivanting about the Internet, and I just had to make one. ๐Ÿ™‚

20121002-140930.jpg

My mp3 player is a funny size, so I had to measure everything differently than the picture showed (since that was for an iPod shuffle).

20121002-141043.jpg

The paper on the left is index cards cut in half, and on the right is my mp3 player, encased in felt. The whole thing is designed to (mostly) lie flat so I can write while I listen to music. I also thought about gluing a pencil holder above the paper, but I couldn’t sharpen a pencil small enough to fit. Oh well.

This little case was pretty easy to make. I used the top of a cardboard letter-box for the cover and cut it to size:

20121002-141351.jpg

Then, I cut my index cards and stacked them together using binder clips. I applied white glue to the long, flat edge and pressed a rectangle of thin cloth to the paper. It only took a few minutes to dry, but I left it until I finished everything else.

20121002-141506.jpg

Then, I cut holes in the spine and threaded the elastic through. Once those were glued in place, I cut and glued (with hot glue) the edges to the spot where my mp3 player sits. (Sorry, I don’t have a picture.) Then I cut the felt to size (about 1.5-2 inches larger all around) and glued it in place. I had to put some extra pieces here and there for aesthetic purposes, too.

Tada! An iPod notebook!

~Mercia Dragonslayer

I’m curious to see how many of my readers journal/use notebooks. Do you? If so, why? And what kind of notebooks do you use?

About merciatremblac

I'm a junior in college, creative writing major, currently living in the mountains of North Carolina with my best friend for a roommate.
This entry was posted in Crafty, music, Notebooks, tutorial and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to iPod Notebook

  1. Heather LaShell says:

    Cute Meg! And creative!

    I remembered that your bedroom used to be your motherโ€™s craft room

    Some of the good stuff must have rubbed off on you

    Love, Grandma May God give you more and more grace and peace. 1 Peter 1:2

    • Thanks! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Yes, I remember that! And I suppose the “good stuff” has rubbed off–we do enjoy art projects at our house. (I suppose some of us enjoy the mess less than others, though…)

  2. Maggie says:

    That’s so cute!

Leave a Reply

