How I Notebook

In case no one’s noticed the “notebook” category, or the fifteen gazillion posts I’ve written about notebooks… I love notebooks! I love using them, I love looking at them, I love buying them and smelling them. Notebooks just… Excite me. Maybe it’s the thought of a blank page that I can fill with my stories and characters. Maybe it’s the idea of reading through everything after the notebook’s been filled. Who knows?

Well, at any rate, I have a lot of notebooks. The last count I posted on this blog was probably 170 or so…. Now I’m up to 225ish. Yes, you read that right! 225 notebooks. This includes notebooks, binders, and scrapbooks. But here’s a picture of just the notebooks:

20121009-172151.jpg

I had them all out to sort. The far green bucket now holds all of my blank spiral notebooks. (Let me tell you, I was honestly surprised by the number of blank spirals that showed up. Maybe I didn’t really need those 20 notebooks I bought for 17ยข each…) The next green bin holds my filled/retired notebooks. Not all of those notebooks are completely filled, but I’ve retired some of them anyway because they’re falling apart or there would be a huge disconnect in content if I continued to use them. The bin on the far right holds my art pads, sketchbooks, multiple-subject notebooks, planners, and a few other miscellaneous notebooks. The magazine holders now hold: school notebooks, story notebooks, and composition notebooks. Then all my journals are in a cube on my Ikea bookshelf.

Now, this list doesn’t include my binders, because they’re all on my bookshelf and are pretty much full with printed novels and other… Stuff. (Maybe I should weed through them at some point. XD) On to my current notebooks.

I actually have more “working” notebooks than the picture below presents, but these are, for the most part, the ones I’m using at this very moment.

20121009-172828.jpg

Going counter-clockwise, starting with the large black journal in the top left corner:

This is just some big black blank sketchbook thing I bought at Books-A-Million. It has a little pen holder on the side, though I’m not sure how long that will last. I’m using it for my NaNoWriMo novel this year. Well, for planning, anyways. I have character charts and sketches, plot pages, song lists, and journal pages for November in there, but I’m afraid it’s a lot less organized that I had really wanted. Oh well.

I love this leather journal. My nana bought it for me from Barnes and Noble for about $5, for Christmas last year. It’s halfway full with journal entries and sermon notes, and that’s pretty much all I use it for now. There are some story scenes and character notes in there, but for the most part I’ve stopped doing that since this journal is pretty heavy to carry everywhere.

A baby notebook! Yay! I have a ton of these from who-knows-where, and I’ve recently decided to start carrying one in my back pocket. (This decision happened at 9:45am yesterday, when I went to tour a college with a friend and realized I didn’t have a notebook small enough to fit in my back pocket. I ended up using my mp3 notebook, so it wasn’t totally horrible, but never again shall that happen!) My random little notes and snippets of conversations and plot points will go in here, and then hopefully be transferred somewhere else if they’re useful.

And finally, my “everything goes in here” notebook. It’s actually supposed to be an idea journal for English class, but I started putting everything in it and eventually it descended into the “randomness” notebook. I used to have one of these all the time back in the day, and I mostly drew nonsense and church sermons in them. This notebook has class notes, one sermon, gallifreyan notes, short stories, and notes for my school novel. It only has a few more pages, and then I can use a new one! (To clarify, it’s just a mead spiral notebook, nothing particularly special. I did get it as a present from my small group leader, who knows me way too well and gave me 15 notebooks and pens and pencils for my birthday. Yay!)

Like I said earlier, these aren’t all the notebooks I’m currently using. I have a notebook for each story I’m working on, and I have a ton of school notebooks for various subjects. But that’s pretty much the main notebooks that I carry with me everywhere. ๐Ÿ™‚

~Mercia Dragonslayer

Do you have a “notebook system”? If so, care to share? And what’s your favorite brand of notebook?

About merciatremblac

I'm a junior in college, creative writing major, currently living in the mountains of North Carolina with my best friend for a roommate.
This entry was posted in Life, Notebooks, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How I Notebook

  1. Mom :-) says:

    Did you say you might need to weed through some of your stuff, notebooks, and binders??? Le gasp!!!!

    I do have a notebook system. It’s this: use one at a time. When full, remove only pages I absolutely need and file them neatly in my alphabetical file folders. Then toss the rest. Don’t fall over; you’ve known about my little use it or toss it propensity for a long time now.

    • Not weed through–just.. Look through! And see what’s in all these binders! ๐Ÿ˜€ I know most of them are novels, though.

      Well, yes. I know your system. Although… How come you don’t have a notebook for each subject? Like… To-do lists, and medical stuff, and school? Or do you?

      • Mom :-) says:

        I have a “scrawl notes from phone conversations/emails” notebook under the glass on my desk. To do items are on that nifty whiteboard that I got when we had our Target office supply trip (except for the long-term, sometime list is posted to my bulletin board where I can see it but not panic about not erasing it). All the medical stuff is in the “Household Binder,” with additional notes in Evernote that I can use when we’re at the doctors’ offices (you knew that one!). The other notebook I have for writing–are you ready for this??–random stuff I just use as needed (not very often), then do as I described above. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Maggie says:

    I love this post! ๐Ÿ˜€ And I can totally relate. I have tons of notebooks around my room, most of them filled, but I have 6 blank ones that I’m excited to fill.

    • Yay! ๐Ÿ˜€ At least most of yours are filled, I presume? XD I have way too many blank or half-filled ones.

      What’re your favorite brands, if you care to share? ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Maggie says:

        Most of mine are filled; for some reason, I can’t stand to leave them lying around half-filled. And I don’t really have a favorite brand. Moleskines are good, though. Everyone always raves about them.

  3. Lea Jurock says:

    I bought myself an awesome leather journal that is refillable. I also have about three others that I have received as gifts. But for now, the leather one is my favorite. ๐Ÿ™‚ Mine isn’t necessarily a brand, but here is where they sell them: http://www.heartwoodgifts.com/phasha-medium-leather-journals/

Leave a Reply

