Winterjam

I went to Winterjam this weekend–it was excellent! (Apart from the waiting in line for three hours and paying $27.87 for food. That was not cool.) I went mainly to see Red, but I did enjoy the rest of the concert as well. Jamie Grace was great. I didn’t hear Newsong because I was standing in line for food for half an hour… But Sidewalk Prophets were good! So was Matthew West. (His song “Forgiveness” gave me a surprising number of story ideas. Although, should I really be surprised at this point?) TobyMac was great, too. And really fun to dance to!

Unfortunately, we sat in the nosebleed section again.. Even though we arrived at the stadium two hours before the doors opened! There were probably 1,000 other people in front of us, and that’s a low estimate. So… We raced around the stadium trying to find a good seat, but that’s rather difficult when you’re with a group of 50 people. At any rate, we had to sit in the highest row of seats directly across from where we sat last year (when we arrived half an hour before the doors opened). The sound was horrible, but the visual wasn’t too bad. And Emiga and I were able to hear enough of the words to sign a few of the songs. (Some of the songs we just… guessed. Because we knew them really well, and the words were indecipherable.) Overall, actually, the sound wasn’t as good as last year.

But I still enjoyed it! Don’t think I didn’t. ^.^ It was a great opportunity, and I only spent $25 overall, and that was Christmas money. (For the food, Emiga and I got two pretzels, two large drinks, and a fry, and we pooled our money. We had *just* enough between the two of us. Whew!) So, not too bad of an expense for ten artists, one of whom I might’ve paid a great deal more to see in concert.

And, on the bus ride home, we blasted TobyMac and danced like the white people we are. Emiga and I had a great view from the back of the bus, and when we weren’t nerdily hand-waving ourselves, the rest of the bus provided a good thirty minutes of entertainment on the way home! Hehe. Also, fun fact: I left my house at 1:50 and didn’t get home until 11:30. @.@ Nine and a half hours. Eep. (But worth it!)

IN OTHER NEWS:

I finally have a laptop! It’s a brand-new 11-inch MacBook Air, and I’m so proud of it! It’s adorable and weighs about as much as my iPad. I love the Mac interface and it’s fast as lightning. The speakers are also really great for music, which is a little surprising considering the size of the computer. And I don’t know if it’s just me, but the battery seems a little lacking… But that could be a result of using the iPad all the time, which has a 10 hour battery on a bad day. But, it does charge up quickly–that’s a plus. So far, I think this was a good choice of laptop for me–light and portable, with a decent battery, and able to run the programs I need for school.

Speaking of school… I start back up tomorrow. Yay. I’ll write another post tomorrow or Tuesday about my classes and such, but I’m taking some pretty interesting ones this semester. At least I won’t be bored! ^.^

~Mercia Dragonslayer

About merciatremblac

I'm a junior in college, creative writing major, currently living in the mountains of North Carolina with my best friend for a roommate.
This entry was posted in Life, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winterjam

  1. Heather LaShell says:

    Love you, Grandma

    May God give you more and more grace and peace. 1 Peter 1:2

  2. the Uncle says:

    I thought the Macbook air was supposed to have a really good battery life. How long are you getting from it?

    • It does–4-5 hours, if I’m not using a ton of programs or watching Netflix. It is a really good battery life, but I’m so used to the 10-hour life of the iPad that it’s a little disconcerting to have to plug it in once or twice a day. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

