First Day of School, and other miscellany

Hurrah! Yesterday was my first day of school, and as usual, I got four lectures on how to use Blackboard and the Course Syllabus. Hopefully Wednesday will be more interesting.

That’s pretty much all I have to say on school. Eh.

On to other things.

OYAN is in an uproar again over whether the forum ought to be more writing-focused. At least two or three topics have been posted in the last week. Normally, I don’t care. I would just wait for the storm to pass. But now that I’m capable of giving a decent critique and posting my own writing, I feel a little annoyed. Why is everyone just talking about critiquing and not actually doing it?

Back to the topics. In *both* topics, everyone was agreeing that yes, we all need to critique more to center the forum’s focus. And then, of course, when someone who disagreed posted, everyone turned and attacked him. The very same people who claimed to hate conflict and debating had directly started a debate. No, I don’t think they’re aware of the irony.

I honestly don’t understand why so many OYANers claim that all conflict is bad. As writers, aren’t we supposed to be all about conflict? Stories run off of conflict. There’s no way to write a good story without it. The Hero has to have some opposition on his way to the Story Goal, or else the story would be too easy and the reader would feel cheated. It’s the same way in life, I suppose. Without conflict, life would be boring and way too simple.

Unfortunately, a lot of real-life conflict really sucks. I can list a couple conflicts I would really rather do without. But guess what? They don’t go away with a snap of my fingers. I still have to deal.

So, I’m not entirely sure what the point of this post was–school, conflict, OYAN, whatever. Just… Remember that not everything goes to plan. You can’t really control anything yourself.

Proverbs 19:21

Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.

~Mercia Dragonslayer

About merciatremblac

I'm a junior in college, creative writing major, currently living in the mountains of North Carolina with my best friend for a roommate.
This entry was posted in God, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Day of School, and other miscellany

  1. John LaShell says:

    Yes, life is messy–unnecessarily so, it seems to us–but the mess is the theater in which God is working out His grace and mercy.
    Grandpa

Leave a Reply

