Catching Fire Review (ish)

Honestly, I don’t have a legitimate, coherent review of Catching Fire even after two months from when I saw it in theaters.

I literally cried through the entire thing.

The entire moving.

I think I stopped for like maybe five seconds here and there.

But

It’s so weird.

I have no idea how to explain why I was crying.

I mean, obviously, some of it was the deaths of well-loved characters, but I cried everywhere else, too.

The closest I’ve come to a decent explanation is that the whole situation is so hopeless and horrific, that literally there is nothing in the future for these characters, because there is no future. The victors think they’ve got it good, that even if they’re going to suffer nightmares and self-hatred the rest of their lives, at least they’re alive. And they’ll never again go through the horrors of the Hunger Games. Then that comfort is snatched out from under them. Johanna’s vitriol directed at the Capitol was well-deserved, and beautifully done. She’s so terrified and angry and lashes out at everyone she can. Also, the fact that the Capitol censors the f-bomb but broadcasts across the entire nation children slaughtering each other? I think that says something about Panem.

And it’s worse because the viewer knows what’s going to happen, knows that there is at least some scrap of hope, and the characters don’t have anything. But then you think about it and it’s like, no, there really is no hope.

Also–this movie felt so real to me. Not like, “Oh, I wish this were real,” or “Oh, this movie is realistic,” but like I was actually watching real, live, events. Events unfolding in real life as they happened on-screen. I think part of this comes from the way the beginning of the movie had portions filmed in documentary format, looking at the victors and tributes as if they were on live television. Still, that feeling carried me all the way through to the end.

tl;dr: THE HUNGER GAMES ARE HORRIBLE WHY WOULD ANYONE DO THAT EVER LIKE WHAT WENT THROUGH THEIR MINDS WHEN THEY PUT THE FIRST GAMES IN PLACE DJSKLGHLASGLJLDFDFSKLFSDLJK

~Mercia Dragonslayer

About merciatremblac

I'm a junior in college, creative writing major, currently living in the mountains of North Carolina with my best friend for a roommate.
This entry was posted in Movies, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

