Graveyard (Poetry)

(Quick explanation for poetry we had to write a poem on death. And to make up for the really depressing poem I brought in last week, I wrote this little thing. Enjoy!)

Graveyard 

I found a case file the other day,

brimming with unsolved murders.

Each little headstone bears a name, a date,

a record of the ones I slew when I was eleven, twelve, fourteen.

Just last week, in fact, I held a funeral

For the one that couldn’t stand on its own two feet.

I moved on to better prospects,

ones that might hold my interest for more than two months and a couple chapters,

ones that held more dragon-slaying and princess-rescuing.

 

(maybe someday I’ll come back to those stories

abandoned in the novel graveyard.)

About merciatremblac

I'm a junior in college, creative writing major, currently living in the mountains of North Carolina with my best friend for a roommate.
This entry was posted in Poetry, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Graveyard (Poetry)

Leave a Reply

