Graveyard (poem thing)

(OOKAY WOW I didn’t realize when I posted this that I’d posted it already a couple weeks ago, when I actually wrote it. Uh. Oops. >.> So have it again with minor revisions, I guess, and another cool poem that I wrote spur-of-the-moment after having a weeeeird dream during my nap. Weird poem follows this one.)

Graveyard

I found a case file the other day,

brimming with unsolved murders.

Each little headstone bears a name, a date,

a record of the ones I slew when I was eleven, twelve, fourteen.

Just last week, in fact, I held a funeral

for the one that couldn’t stand on its own two feet.

I moved on to better prospects,

ones that might hold my interest for more than two months and a couple chapters,

ones that held more dragon-slaying and adventure.

Maybe someday I’ll come back to those stories

abandoned in the novel graveyard.

~Mercia Dragonslayer

(hehe oops sorry again for posting this more than once. eh)

 

Apocalypse Poem Thing (obvs no title, in case you can’t tell)

 

I would like to thank the creator of the universe

for creating a world in which there is no freak virus.

 

There is no virus, no disease

that necessitates guns and lock-downs and paranoia,

freeze-locks on monsters with pale, spider-silk skin,

a lack of frenzied escape attempts

leaving loved ones behind, locked in the inevitable,

while the horrified survivors stumble on.

 

So yes,

Thank God for the lack of apocalypse.

 

~Mercia Dragonslayer

About merciatremblac

I'm a junior in college, creative writing major, currently living in the mountains of North Carolina with my best friend for a roommate.
This entry was posted in Poetry, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Graveyard (poem thing)

  1. Heather LaShell says:

    cute

    Love, Grandma

    May God give you more and more grace and peace. 1 Peter 1:2

Leave a Reply

